LA CityView Channel 35 wins prestigious LA Area Governors Emmy Award

And the Emmy Goes To…

ITA’s LA CityView Media Group has been selected by the Television Academy’s Los Angeles Area Governors Award committee as the recipient of the 73rd Los Angeles Area Emmys Governors Award for delivering exceptional and essential news information, resources and local government access to all Angelenos through LA CityView Channel 35.

The honor was presented during the Los Angeles Area Emmy Awards ceremony July 24.

The honored ITA team, from left: Al Magallon, Maryam Abbassi, ITA General Manager, Ted Ross, Club Member; Ted Lin, Blake Bradford and Mariana Ferraro.

The award is given to an individual, company or organization that has made an outstanding, innovative and visionary achievement in the arts, sciences or management of television as well as a substantial contribution to the greater Los Angeles area.

Through its signature weekly information series LA This Week, LA CityView Channel 35 has covered news and events as diverse as Los Angeles itself, including papal visits, World Cup and World Series wins, the birth of City landmarks, and new resources including LA Metro and Staples Center. Additionally, Channel 35 has provided unedited coverage of Council meetings and reported on civil unrest, devastating fires, floods, scientific achievements and some of the biggest nights in entertainment. In 2020 the channel played a critical role in informing and educating LA residents during the global COVID-19 pandemic.

ITA’s Ted Lin accepts the 73rd Los Angeles Area Emmys Governors Award at the Los Angeles Area Emmy Awards ceremony July 24.

“We are so thrilled to have been selected for this prestigious honor,” said Ted Lin, LA CityView Channel 35 Station Manager. “For more than three decades, Channel 35 has produced stories from across Los Angeles with an insider’s perspective; and 2020 was the ultimate test of our skill and our highly experienced team. We are so proud of the work we have done to deliver pertinent lifesaving information to LA residents, Californians and the nation.”

LA CityView Media Group Channel 35 brought industry-wide contributions in television and digital media to the battle against the COVID-19 pandemic and became an integral City resource for keeping LA residents educated on all COVID-related matters from statistics to necessary guidelines to helping manage and slow the spread of the virus.

The Club congratulates the Channel 35 crew for this prestigious and well-deserved honor.

Past Los Angeles Area Governors Award recipients include: Kobe Bryant, Bob Miller, Stephanie Edwards, Pat Harvey, Univision Los Angeles, “Wednesday’s Child”/Christine Devine, Steve Edwards, Pasadena Tournament of Roses Parade, the LA Dodgers, Telemundo’s KVEA, KCAL/KCBS “Stephanie’s Day,” Stan Freberg, Bob Eubanks, PBS SoCal, Dr. George Fischbeck, Pete Noyes, Chick Hearn, KTLA, Kelly Lange, Jess Marlow, KMEX, Gene Autry, George Putnam, Larry McCormick, Jerry Dunphy, Vin Scully and Bill Welch.

The LA CityView Channel 35 honored team:

ITA General Manager Ted Ross, Club Member.

Ted Ross, General Manager
Maryam Abbassi, Assistant General Manager

Al Magallon, Angela Hetherwick, Blake Bradford, Francisco Montano, Mariana Ferraro, Marlene Crump, Michelle Clay, Souheil Helou,
Ted Lin,
Umaymah Rashid, Wendell Ayala and Yana Gracile.

Contractors: Brent Kaplan,
Darren Doereschel, Gary Lord,
Michael Hernandez, Frank Aguilera, Martin Martinez, Maria Hall-Brown, Dawn Poomee, Madeleine Gallagher, Kevin King,
Cody Jarrett
and Joe Belden.