Here’s to the Civilians

Fire Dept. hosts annual Civilian Employee
Recognition Awards.

On May 31, the LAFD handed out awards to its civilian employees.

The event took place at the Frank Hotchkin Memorial Training Center. The Club co-sponsored the event.

The LAFD has more than 300 non-sworn members that provide professional support that directly corresponds with pursuit of the Department’s mission of saving life and property.

The LAFD’s Civilian Employee Recognition Committee (CERC) was established in 1991 to recognize outstanding civilian employee performance. The CERC is comprised of Department civilian and uniformed personnel. At the start of the program, awards were presented quarterly. Then in 1997, the awards program was presented in a yearly format. The Employees of the Year are chosen from the following three categories, based on the Department’s civilian civil service classification’s memorandum of understanding:

  • • Clerical
  • • Shop Maintenance
  • • Professional/Specialized Skills

During the end of the calendar year, nominations are solicited from the entire Department. Over the course of several days and with the strictest confidence, the CERC reviews each nomination submitted for civilian employee recognition criteria. The CERC then conducts interviews with the nominators. Finally, the CERC Chair performs background checks on the finalists. Once this process is completed, the CERC recommends the candidates to the Fire Chief in the following categories:

  • • Fire Chief’s Award of Excellence
  • • Employees of the Year
  • • Certificates of Special Recognition
  • • Fire Chief’s Group Award of Excellence

Upon selection, the Fire Chief and the Administrative Operations Commander notify the Employees of the Year and other honorees. The CERC then plans and coordinates the Civilian Employees Recognition Awards Luncheon to celebrate with the honorees and their families, friends, co-workers, and sponsors. In 2013, the Certificates for Perfect Attendance was introduced to the Awards Program, honoring those employees for their perfect attendance for the past year.

Congratulations to the honorees!

Special thanks go to Jennifer Corona, Co-Chair, LAFD Civilian Employee Recognition Committee. Christine Ozuna was also Co-Chair.

LAFD Civilian Honorees 2018

Employee of the Year:
Shop Maintenance: Dan Thomas, Equipment Mechanic
Clerical: Daniella Boyle, Administrative Clerk
Professional/Specialized Skills: Emilio Rodriguez, Sr. Management Analyst II

Fire Chief Award of Excellence:
Rene Gonzalez, GIS Specialist

Certificates of Special Recognition:
Elsa Rodarte, Sr. Administrative Clerk
Tiffany Baltazar, Management Analyst
Laura Kakita, Accounting Clerk II
Reginald Henderson, Equipment Mechanic
David Myers, Fire Protection Engineer

Fire Chief’s Group Award of Excellence
Fire Life Safety Plan Check Unit:
David Myers
Menoa Aghajani
Oscar Salgado
Dominique Medina
Pejman Noori
Andrew Ko
Vidal Garcia
William Johns
Susie Adamian
Yvette Whitaker

Certificates of Perfect Attendance:

Dacia Gonzalez
Tiana Munoz
Daisy Quan
Mario Salazar
Paul Perales
Kurt Ruiz
Ngozi Mbamalu
Vidal Garcia
Eric Ngo
Linda Wu
Jackson Jang
Sally Gonzales
Lori Skorce
Ricardo Olivas
Scott Liefeld
Loy Rollins
Mark Davis
Royce Long
Kurt Sato
Nilam Patel
Masaki Horii
James Wolfe
Lesley Jennifer Cornejo
Podiniliame Dissanayake
Norma Gutierrez
Jorge Sandoal
Emilio Rodrigue
Hank Murakami
Renee Ramirez
Stella Bairamian
Boualame Mokrane
Carr Mensah-Oduro
Mauricio Ramirez