



From left: Capt. Paul Ponce, Fourth District Deputy of Arts and Culture Isaac Burks, Secretary Tanzi Cole, Fire Commissioner Jimmy Hara M.D, and Inspector Vincent Owens.

LAFD

Fire Marshal Awards

LAFD hosts 9th annual event honoring excellence in fire inspection.



Chief John Vidovich

Fire Marshal Mark Stormes and Inspector Vincent Owens.



Fire Marshal Mark Stormes and Inspector Lloyd Fukuda, 37 years of City service.



Fire Marshal Mark Stormes and Capt. Paul Ponce.

The Fire Dept. held its ninth annual Fire Marshal Recognition of Excellence Awards ceremony Oct. 16. The event was held at City

This year's honorees were Inspector Vincent Owens, Capt. Paul Ponce, and Secretary Tanzi Cole.

The LAFD historically has recognized the accomplishments of field personnel and civilian staff through public award ceremonies; however, there had not been an award ceremony to recognize the dedicated and positive accomplishments of Fire Inspectors. In 2005, the void was filled when Fire Marshal Jimmy H. Hill and Assistant Fire Marshal Douglas L. Barry developed the Inspector Recognition Ceremony.



Fire Marshal Mark Stormes and Sr. Clerk Typist Renita Young.



Fire Marshal Mark Stormes and Fire Marshal Secretary Tanzi Cole.

In 2006, the program was expanded to recognize a FPB Fire Captain making a positive impact on the Bureau, beyond the scope

In 2007, the department again expanded the program to recognize a FPB civilian member who was contributing to the progress and positive development of the Fire Prevention Bureau.

Previous honorees were:

- 2005: Inspectors Jesse Franco, Cliff Anderson, Monte Buckner and Sandra Smith
- 2006: Inspectors Neil Reitzell, Jon Bullock, Mark Chase, Rodolfo Martinez, and Captain Fred Fowlks
- 2007: Inspectors Michael Ing, Terrence O'Connell, William Parker, Capt. Scott Miller, and Executive Assistant II Martha Lucero

■ 2008: Inspector Robert Jackson, Capt. Joe Szabados, and FPEA IV Ghassem Nikkhoo

Story by Tanzi Cole, Secretary, LAFD; Photos by Gedina Bergstrom, Club Counselor

- 2009: Inspector Frank Cordova, Capt. Matthew Gatewood, and Clerk Typist Katie
- 2010: Inspector Patrick Killian, Capt. Robert Knight, and Clerk Typist Jeannie Porter
- 2011: Inspector Steven Hofbauer, Capt. Anthony Valdez, and FPEA IV Hani G. Malki
- 2012: Inspector Joseph Johnson, Capt. d'Lisa Davies, and Clerk Typist Elva Davila
- 2013: Inspector Vincent Owens, Capt. Paul Ponce, Secretary Tanzi Cole

The Club congratulates this year's winners!



Awards ceremony attendees inside the Fire Commission Room, City Hall East



Mr. LA., Councilmember Tom LaBonge, Club Member.



From left: Tanzi Cole, Secretary and 2013 Fire Marshal Award Recipient, her niece Renika, her daughters Ari and White, her aunt Marilyn, and her nephew Marlon.