Port Commissioner Dave Arian, 1 year of City service; Sgt. Glen Twardy, Port Police, 16 years of service, Club Member; Sgt. Robert Myers, Port Police, 21 years of service, Club Member; and Officer Roberto Ramirez,

# LAPD, LAFD, HARBOR

# Honoring Harbor Area Safety

Harbor-area public safety officers are honored.



Story and photos by Jackie Causillas, Club Counselor

n Aug. 2, the Wilmington Community gathered to honor Police Officers, Firefighters, and Port

Police Officers stationed in the harbor area. The event, held at the Harbor Christian Center in conjunction with the National Night Out event, included dinner and a concert.

The ceremony began with the National Anthem sung by Gina Grant and ended up being a concert with the help of the church's band.

Interestingly enough, when duty calls, our Police Officers and Firefighters must respond regardless of the occasion. While Capt. Senior, LAFD, was honoring Jeff Braff, a call came in and the squad rushed off. (They returned after their duty had been met.)

#### The honorees were:

- LAPD, Harbor Division:
- Det. Rafael Mora
- Cadet Lt. Manuel Jimenez
- Special Problems Unit
- Sgt. Dana Adams
- Officer James Brimberry
- Officer Paul Devine ■ Officer Brett Ehring
- Officer Blake Putnins
- Officer Matthew Vuoso
- Officer Evening Wight

## **LAFD Fire Station 38:**

- Engineer Jeffrey Braff
- Firefighter/Paramedic Thomas Wells
- Firefighter/Paramedic Jerome Woodcock

### **Port Police Traffic Enforcement Unit:**

- Sgt. Robert Myers
- Sgt. Glenn Twardy
- Officer II Michael Canlas
- Officer II Masaki Imoto
- Officer II Mark Renteria ■ Officer II Mark Velasquez
- Officer David Armijo
- Officer Morgan Evans ■ Officer Michael Glimpse
- Officer Justin Sepe

A special award from the Wilmington Coordinating Council went to Officer Cheryl Morris, Port Police.

Congratulations to all those honored for keeping this part of the City safe! And special thanks to Joan Davis at the Harbor Christian Center, for hosting a great event.



State Sen. Ted W. Lieu, 28th District



Andrew Smith, Commander Commanding Officer, LAPD; and Joan Davis, Harbor Christian Center representative.



Cpt. William Hayes, Commanding Officer, Harbor Area, 29 years of City service; and Sgt. II Catherine Plows, Officer in Charge Harbor Area Community Relations, 25 years of service.



Back row, from left: State Sen. Ted W. Lieu, 28th District; Ricardo Hong, representing Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa; Officer II Mark Imoto, Port Police, 11 years of City service; Officer Morgan Evans, Port Police, 5 years of service; and Cpt. Mike Graychik, Port Police, 29 years of service. Middle: Rebeka Kim, Deputy County of LA, representing County Supervisor Don Knabe; Sergio Carrillo, representing Congresswoman Janice Hahn, 5 years of City service; Officer II Mike Canlas, Port Police, 6 years of service, Club Member; and Officer Justin Sepe, Port Police, 5 years of service, Club Member. Front: Veronica Zendejas, Sr. District Representative, 28th District; Lt. Ken Hawkes, 23 years; Sgt. Robert Myers, Port Police, 21 years, Club Member; Sgt. Glen Twardy, Port Police, 16 years of service, Club Member; Officer II Mark Renteria, Port Police, 13 years of service; and Lt. Jaime Navarro, 20 years of service, Club Member.



From left: Officer Cheryl Morris, Port Police, 17 years of City service, Club Member; Cpt. Charles Hearn, LAPD, 22 years of service; Commissioner Eleanor R. Montano, Los Angeles County Human Relations, LAPD Volunteer, 45 years.



The cake that helped honor the Port Police



Officer Cheryl Morris, Port Police, 17 years of City service, Club Member; and Victor Medina, Wilmington Council



Chaplain Ed Beardsley, LAPD, 20 years of City service



From left: Motor Officer Mark Renteria, Port Police, 13 years of City service; Motor Officer Mike Canlas, Port Police, 6 years of service, Club Member; and Motor Officer Morgan Evans, Port Police, 5 years of service.



Lt. Ken Hawkes, 23 years of City service; Cpt. Mike Graychik, Port Police, 29 years of service; and Lt. Jaime Navarro, 20 years of service, Club Member.



From left: Sergio Carrillo, representing Congresswoman Janice Hahn, 5 years of City service; State Sen. Ted W. Lieu, 28th District; Engineer Jeff Braff, LAFD 20 years; Sr. District Representative Veronica Zendejas, 28th District; Ricardo Hong, representing Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa; and Rebeka Kim, Deputy County of LA, representing County Supervisor Don Knabe.



The cake that helped honor the LAPD, Harbor Division.



From left: Motor Officer Mark Imoto, Port Police, 11 years of City service; and Motor Officer Justin Sepe, Port Police, 5 years of service, Club Member.



Port Police, 5 years of service, Club Member.