

Perfect Attendance at the Port

Harbor luncheon congratulates those who were steady on the job last year.





Story and photos courtesy Martín Chavez, Harbor

n Aug. 10, the Harbor Department recog-Unized 187 employees who achieved perfect attendance during the 2009 calendar year. The luncheon was held at LAFD's Station 112 in San Pedro, home to the "world's most powerful fireboat, the Warner Lawrence."

The Port's Attendance Program Coordinator, Martin Chavez, started the program by thanking the employees for their tremendous efforts during the previous calendar year and introduced Deputy Executive Director Molly Campbell. Ms. Campbell expressed her gratitude for their amazing accomplishments and remarkable attendance records. She further shared the Department's appreciation for the employees' commitment to serve our customers and each other.

Joanne Esparza and Alberto Rosario were acknowledged for their 20 consecutive years of perfect attendance; Ebrahim Khalvati and Martín D. Chavez for their 15 years of perfect attendance; and for having ten years of perfect attendance: Holly Carlson, James Morgan, Michael Rubino, Linda Vigil and Hak Ning Wong. Each employee will receive \$500 for their achievement.

Employees in attendance participated in a drawing for prizes donated by Western Medical Group and the City Employees Club. Two sets of Dodger game tickets donated by Western Medical Group were won by Mariam Cruz and Mikey Sharp. The City Employees Club provided the following prizes: Two sets of Angels' tickets, movie tickets, and City logo watches. Each of the winners - Mark Weisenberger, Irene Blandino, Frank Scognamillo, Ronald Degler, James Williams, Eric Douchette, Jeffrey Miller, Sue Lai, Michael Barnes and Gary Gardner - selected their own prize. The LAFD Historical Society provided a prize commemorating the restoration of the Fireboat Ralph J. Scott, which was won by Frank Albers.

The highlight of the event each year is the drawing for eight \$500 prizes. To qualify for the drawing, an employee could not have been absent from work during the 2009 calendar year. The drawing was conducted by Ms. Campbell, and the winners are: Masa Morimoto, Francisco Sanchez, Sumita Thappa, Robel Afewerki, Mort Rowghani, Chuck Smith, William Houser and Oscar Insong.

The day was perfect summer weather, sitting next to the waterfront enjoying ice cream sundaes piled high with a myriad of toppings in the company of fellow dedicated Harbor Department employees. What a great reward for being at work every day!















• 2009 •

27 years: Norman Arikawa 9 years: Kenneth Huerta Marion Mayse Charles Smith

Danny Domingo William Houser Ilesia Jones Beniamin Sm

Charles Parsons Ana Peredia Brenda Richardson Mort Rowghani

CONSECUTIVE YEARS OF PERFECT ATTENDANCE

Kelvin Wei Damien Young Robert Zmuda

Pauline Hospe Masao Ikeda Cherie Ivers Stephen Jame Melvin Jones Lisa Jordan Lance Kaneshiro Kin Kwong Crystal Lee Frank Lin Charlotte Little Leticia Lorenzana Raymond Maese Jose Maldonado David Malin Vanessa Manjarrez Kenneth Mattfeld Darren McClung Robert Medina John Mepham Jeffrey Miller Jennifer Mosher Robert Myers Leon Nixon James Olds Regina Pacheco John Pagliuca Karl Pan Charles Middleton Jean-Pierre Modena Danny Ponce Daryl Raasch

• 2009 •

Kurt Ramirez Richard Rauhut Rosa Reynoso Albert Robles Enedina Rodriguez Gerd Roesner Michael Rubino Laurence Russell Francisco Sanchez Jaime Santa Cruz Mario Santa Cruz Michael Saucedo Bradley Sharp David Shieh Andrew Sklarsh Lori Skroce Benjamin Small Bruce Sutherland Arlene Tang Jill Taylor Sumita Thappa Ralph Tracy Chuong Tran Rhonda Uyemura Anthony Vann Omar Vargas James Williams Stacy Xenios Steve Yoshioka Sal Zambrano Tracy Zuliani

20 years:

Jo Ann Esparza Alberto Rosario

16 years:

Masa Morimoto

15 years:

Martín D. Chavez Ebrahim Khalvati

13 years:

Shaun Shahrestani

12 years:

Dagoberto Samaniego

11 years:

Chris Bobo Bent Christiansen

10 years:

Holly Carlson James Morgan Michael Rubino Linda Vigil Hak Ning Wong

8 years: Regina Grant Lajuan Kennedy John Kostrencich Frank Rendon

7 years: Eric Caris Teresa Henkhaus Steven Otera Thomas Russell

6 years: Frank Albers Jack Clav

5 years: Ronald Boyd Rene Rodriguez Frank Scognamillo John Short

4 years:

Michael Barnes Diane Boskovich William Stel Tom Yamamoto

Andrew Benson

Manuel Esparza

Minerva Gutierrez

Gary Gardner

Chris Grossi

Jason Ho

Sue Lai

Ping Lit

Angel Lim

Zizhan Liu

Emilio Macias

Joseph Manlove

Dave Mathewson

Richard Mattison

Gary McAngus

Danette Nappi

Peter Ouk

James McDaniel

Julie Huerta

Bradley Jenkins

Geraldine Knatz

Kris Bosnich

Rafael Diaz

3 years: Roy Benjamins

Mark Weisenberger

Marcel Van Dijk

Michael Sharp Rica Viola David Walsh Royna Williams Peter Yin

2 years:

Charles Adams Stacy Allen Kurt Arend Ismael Arriola Mike Christensen Stuart Fricke Leonard Gallegos Anthony Gioiello Timothy Hogan Oscar Insong Matthew Koerber Laura Leon Glen Litle Kathryn McDermott Todd McElhaney Christine Men Amando Parreno Christopher Patton Abdul Rashid Jose Robledo Gary Virgil

One year:

Robel Afewerki Teresa Aldrete Michael Alva Thomas Asuncion Octavio Avilao Irene Blandino Leticia Caldera Bill Cheng Kenneth Claughlin Kenneth Crawford Miriam Cruz Ronald Degler Michael DeLang Eric Douchette Robert Dunbar John Dwyer Thomas Estrada Carlos Flores Glenford Gabourel Norah Garcia Eric Gilbertson Charles Giles Regner Globus Jesse Gonzales Ollie Grays Jose Guerrero Dac Hoang