November 2009

LAPD



Detention Officer Graduation

Police Dept. graduates 20 new detention officers.



The all-volunteer Los Angeles Police Concert Band, under the direction of Dr. Don Holcomb, performed at the event.

Capt. Clay Farrell, Commanding Officer, Jail Division, delivered the welcome remarks.



Principal Detention Officer Michael Ellington, Club Member



nenceddress y Dep.

The commencement address conducted by Dep. Chief Mark Perez.



Councilman Dennis P. Zine, Club Member.

Story by Arlene Herrero, Club Counselor; Photos by Ryszard Niscior, LAPD

The Police Dept. Jail Division graduated 19 LAPD detention officers, and one from the Culver City Police Dept., at its ceremonies Sept. 3. The event was held at the Police Academy.

Uniform Inspection was conducted by Dep. Chief Mark Perez; Assistant Chief Sharon Papa, Club Member; Capt. Clay Farrell, Commanding Officer, Jail Division; Commander Jeffrey L. Greer, Office of Operations; Councilman Dennis P. Zine; and Assistant Chief Cerris Black, Culver City Police Dept.

The National Anthem was sung by Bridget Jones, and the invocation was read by LAPD Department Chaplain Rev. Tina Babcock. Introduction and presentation of diplomas was conducted by Capt. Clay Farrell, Commanding Officer, Jail Division.

The Recruit Class speech was delivered by Detention Officer and class leader Japhet Vargas. The commencement address was conducted by Deputy Mark Perez, Commanding Officer of the Professional Standards Bureau.

The class honorary awards were presented by Principal Detention Officer Michael Ellington, Senior Drill Instructor. The new Detention Officers are (all are from the LAPD, except as noted):

- Ismael Hernandez, Club Member
- Japhet Vargas
- Jesus Hernandez,
- Salvador Torres, Club Member
- Edgar Zabunyan
- Jerimau Erby
- Jamese Honest, Culver City Police Dept.
- Kianna Urbanski
- Martha Ramirez
- Milton Lopez
- Robert Reza, Club Member
- Christopher Esquivel, Club Member
- David Cortes
- Nathan Jackson, Club Member
- Ricardo Estrada, Club Member
- Juan Soto-Funes, Club Member
- Shameka Henderson, Club Member
- Paul Vu
- Erica McAdoo, Club Member, and
- Carlos Calderon, Club Member.



Assistant Chief Sharon K. Papa, Club Member.

The Outstanding Academic Achievement honor was awarded to Ricardo Estrada. The Outstanding Physical Training Achievement honor was awarded to Juan Soto-Funes; the Outstanding Uniform Appearance honor was awarded to Japhet Vargas; and the Outstanding Overall Recruit honor went to Ismael Hernandez, Club Member.

Congratulations to all our new Detention Officers!

Special thanks go to Principal Detention Officer Michael Ellington, Club Member, and Senior Detention Officer Renee Cuevas for their assistance.



The LAPD Honor Guard.

The New Detention Officers are:



Detention Officer Jesus Hernandez.



Detention Officer Salvador Torres, Club Member.



Detention Officer Edgar Zabunyan.



Detention Officer Jerimau Erby, Club Member.



Detention Officer Jamese Honest, Culver City Police Dept.



Detention Officer Kianna Urbanski.



Detention Officer



Detention Officer Milton Lopez.



Detention Officer Robert Reza, Club Member.



Detention Officer Christopher Esquivel, Club Member.



Detention Officer David Cortes.



Detention Officer Nathan Jackson, Club Member.



Detention Officer Ricardo Estrada, Club Member.



Detention Officer Juan Soto-Funes, Club Member.



Detention Officer Shameka Henderson, Club Member.



Detention Officer Paul Vu.



Detention Officer Erica McAdoo, Club Member.



Detention Officer Carlos Calderon, Club Member.



Detention Officer Ismael Hernandez, Club Member.



Detention Officer Japhet Vargas.