22 September 2009

PUBLIC WORKS

Thanking the Recyclers

Sanitation hosts recognition day for City Employees involved with the recycling program.



From left: Enrique Zaldivar and Jeff Catalano, Council District 9.



From left: Christal Young and Marivic Sabillo.



City Facilities Recycling Program, Special Events Recycling, from left: Alfonso Lopez, Supervisor, and award recipient Epi Solis.



Story by Marivic Sabillo

Public Works/Sanitation's Solid Resources Citywide Recycling Division, City Facilities Recycling Program (CFRP), hosted its annual Recycling Crew Recognition Day June 23, in the Tom Bradley Room atop City Hall. Every year the CFRP shows gratitude to the recycling crews around the City.

Within the recycling crews there are employees who show exemplary efforts in their recycling position. These employees are recognized for their hard work and dedication to the City. They are:

- Carlos Luevano, DWP;
- Connie Castillo, Airports/Ontario;
- Custodian Crew, Harbor;
- Epi Solis, Public Works/Sanitation/CFRP Special Events; and
- Herbert Romero, Convention Center.

The CFRP also recognized the following people for their ongoing dedication and support for recycling issues:

- Lupe Vela, Council District 1;
- Jeff Catalano, Council District 9;
- Alex Fay, Council District 11, now with the Mayor's Office;
- Nicole Bernson, Council District 12; and
- Cynthia Ruiz, President, Board of Public Works.

The CFRP appreciates the City Employees Club of Los Angeles and SEIU Local 721 for their continued support for this annual event. The City Employees Club donated prizes for the raffle, and SEIU Local 721 supplied the food for this event.

Alex Fay was unable to attend the Recycling Crew Recognition Day and last was recognized for his recycling dedication with Alfonso Lopez during a recent Public Works Board meeting.





The Harbor Custodian Crew, front row, from left: Maria Garcia, Henry Torres, Jose Luis Torres, Juan Lopez and Albert Galloway. Second row: Alejandra Aviles, Aixa Lopez, Shirin Sadrpour, Marisol Venegas, Luis Velasquez and Rodrigo Cayax. Back: Sergio Rosales and Miriam Quintanilla.



From left: Alex Helou; Lupe Vela, Council District 1; Karen Higgins; and Karen Coca.



City Employees Club of Los Angeles, Alive!

Councilman Dennis Zine recognized the recipients, from left: Sergio Rosales, Harbor; Connie Castillo; Carlos Luevano; Herbert Romero; and Epi Solis.



From the Convention Center, from left: Steve Potik, Eruviel Simon Rosales, Antonio Alcantara, Alex Organista and Herbert Romero (in back).

Airports/Ontario award recipients are, bottom row, from left: Connie Castillo, Lodis Woodmore and Tim Gulla. Top: Juan De La Parra, Fernando Alday and James Jacobs.



From left: Ernesto Cardenas; Valerie Shaw; Alex Fay (previously with Council District 11, now with the Mayor's Office); Alfonso Lopez; and Cynthia Ruiz.