GENERAL SERVICES

Three Cheers For the Recyclers

General Services hosts recognition day for the Recycling Crew.

Story and photos courtesy General Services

reneral Services held its 10th annual GRecycling Crew Recognition Day June 12 at LAX.

The event acknowledges and pays tribute to our recycling crews who collect recyclables from more than 600 City facilities from the Harbor to the Valley. The Dept. welcomes crews from Airports, Convention Center, the DWP, Harbor, the Zoo, and General Services' City Facilities Recycling and Special Events Recycling Programs.

The City Facilities Recycling Program (CFRP) has been providing great service to City facilities for approximately 20 years. The CFRP appreciates that Councilmembers Ed Reyes, Jan Perry, Bill Rosendahl and Greig Smith signed the certificates of appreciation.

Recyclers honored at the event included:

Tony Royster
Melody McCormick
Alfonso Lopez
Damon Jackson
Charles Chapman
Carlos Sanchez
Rick Munoz
Barry Harper
Anthony Hill
Angel Rubio
Phil Vega
Richard Whiteman
Elmer Smith
Romance Harper
Erika Cabrera
Alejandro Orea
Gerald Harris
Terrance Martin
Eduardo Gonzalez
Jack Conway
Noel Cabrera
Benjamine Aka
Juan Castaneda
Maria "Soledad" Cisneros
Jose Farias
Esteban Gomez
Joaquin Guzman
Damon Joseph
Jonathan Marshall
Jose Mejia
Pamela Myles
Victor Perez Jr.
Jose Rincon
Rosalino Santiago
Epi Solis
Marivic Sabillo

Christal Young

Special awards were presented to Noel Cabrera and Clarence Williams of the City Facilities Recycling Crew. Event supporters includ-

ed Renee Anderson and Mimi Soto, SEIU Local 721; John Hawkins and Arlene Herrera from the Club; and Tom McHugh of Airports for hosting the event.

Congratulations to all the honorees!



Karen Higgins and Sean Burchill



From left: Melody McCormick, Clarence Williams and Karen Higgins.



The Special Events Recycling Crew, from left: Karen Higgins, Tony Royster, Jose Rincon, Noel Cabrera, Jose Farias, Joaquin Guzman and Melody McCormick.



Ontario Airport, front row, from left: Steve Briones, Jose Zavala (Honorary Recycler of the Year), Fernando Alday and Robert Garcia. Back: James Jacobs and Lodis Woodmore, Laborer Supervisor.

FOOD. FUN. FRIENDS. B

OCT. 5, 2008 See Page 27 for Details

Tony M. Royster, General Services Interim General Manager, spoke about the accomplishments of the crew over the past 20 years and announced that the General Services will be transferred to Public Works/Sanitation this summer.

Enrique C. Zaldivar, Public Works/Sanitation Director, spoke about the efforts of the Recycling Crew and how the program will grow with the Bureau Sanitation Solid Resources Citywide Recycling Program, under the direction of by Neil Guglielmo and Karen Coca.

The prestigious "Recycler of the Year" award goes to the employees who have consistently performed their duties and have shown initiative and dedication in recycling. Each of these awardees received an award made from recycled glass.

The Recyclers of the Year are:

DWP: The JFB Material Services Unit
Recycling Crew: Esteban Gomez
LAX: The Recycle Crew at LAX
Ontario: Jose Zavala
Harbor: Port of LA Paint Shop



The City Facilities Recycling Crew, far back row, from left: Phil Vega, Rick Monoz, and Gerald Harris. Second row from back: Romance Harper, Terrance Martin, Damon Jackson, Anthony Hill, Angel Rubio and Richard Whiteman. Middle row: Al Lopez, Tony Royster, Eduardo Gonzales, Renee Anderson, Carlos Sanchez and Karen Higgins. Front: Alejandro Orea, Erika Carbera, Elmer Smith, Jack Conway, Marivic Sabillo, Charles Chapman, Christal Young and Melody McCormick.