



LAFD Chief Douglas L. Barry addresses the graduating class.



Academic Achievement Award Recipient Kristofer Jorgensen.



Jaime Foster Inspirational Award Recipient David Bradley.



Golden Rung Award and Golden Gasket Award Recipient Eric Lugo.





Golden Cross Award Recipient Michael Walton.



Golden Rung Award Recipient Casey Ketelsleger.

Fire Graduates

■ Fire Dept. graduates its latest training recruits.

Story by Arlene Herrero, Club Counselor; Photos by Angel Gomez, Member Services Manager

FIRE DEPT. — Thirty-eight members of the second 2006 Fire Dept. training class graduated at a ceremony held Feb. 28 at Drill Tower 40 on Terminal Island.

The class motto is "Stay Strong, Stay True." Master of Ceremonies was Capt. Steve Owens. The Presentation of Colors was handled by the LAFD Color Guard with Firefighter John Keys. The National Anthem was sung by Tammy Fortune-Irby. The Invocation, Closing Remarks and Benediction were conducted by LAFD Chaplain George Negrete. The actual Badge Presentation was by Fire Chief Douglas L. Barry.

Also in attendance were Jill Furillo, Vice President of the Board of Fire Commissioners; Deputy Chief Emile W. Mack; Section Commander of Recruit Services Section Brian L. Cummings; Arif Alikhan, Deputy Mayor of the Homeland Security and Public Safety Office of the Mayor Antonio R. Villaraigosa; and Drill Master Capt. II Craig H. Jackson.

Class honors went to:

Academic Achievement: Kristofer Jorgensen Top Overall Recruits: Ryan Miller and Jordan

Golden Cross Award: Michael Walton Golden Rung Award: Eric Lugo and Casey Ketelsleger

Golden Gasket Award: Eric Lugo Jaime Foster Inspirational Award: David

Congratulations to all the graduates! And thanks to Lee Keebler for assisting us with this article.

The graduates were:

Alfred S. Balestra Bradley J. Barrett Chad J. Bernhardt Ryan W. Boswell David W. Bradley Brian M. Buehler Patrick C. D'Arrigo Mike E. Fyhrie Aaron A. Guggenheim

Kyle H. Halstead Gregory D. Harvey Matthew Hennessy Austin J. Herrington

Tahj Jakins Kristofer B. Jorgensen Casey E. Ketelsleger Brett G. Klemme

Dennis A. Lefevre Scott R. Loveless Eric A. Lugo Evan T. McDevitt Enrique Mercado Chad A. Miller

Ryan S. Miller John J. Molina David J. Narvaez Corey W. O'Bryan Miguel H. Pacheco

Shawn A. Phillips Jordan I. Purrington Matthew C. Quealy Carlos R. Risco Luke D. Russell Christopher Sandoval Aaron M. Sheiern

David A. Steinman Michael R. Walton Jonathan J. Wong



Top Overall Recruit Award Recipient Jordan Purrington.



Top Overall Recruit Award Recipient Ryan Miller.





Austin J. Herrington.



Brett G. Klemme.





David W. Bradley.







Alfred S. Balestra.







Chad A. Miller.





to the Grads







Enrique Mercado.





Matthew Hennessy.



Jordan I. Purrington.





Gregory D. Harvey.





David J. Narvaez.





Brian M. Buehler.

